Pawshake logo
Jadzia

Loving Home Away From Home!

Ottawa
39 times favorited
32 recurring guests
Last booked today
Last contacted today
Lives with 2 cats
Usually responds within one day
2 h ago
Last activity
<8h
Response time
100%
Response rate
Dog boarding
24h stay, at sitter's home
30 CAD for each additional pet
30 CAD
/night
All services and rates

About Jadzia

Hi there, my name is Jadzia and I love all animals!

My husband and I live in a relatively central location in Ottawa in an older style bungalow. We have a fully fenced in yard and deck for lounging and play! We take all dogs on regular walks (long/short depending on season/weather). We offer visits to off leash dog parks if pet owner permits it.

I am an active volunteer with the Ottawa Humane Society. I am a Level 2 Canine Enrichment volunteer, which means I walk and work with the newer arrivals and the more difficult dogs that are ready for adoption.

I presently offer HOME DOG BOARDING, HOUSE SITTING, 30 MINUTE HOUSE CALLS, DOGGY DAYCARE & GROUP DOG PARK VISITS. I love taking and sharing photos of your pet’s time with me and love spoiling all fur babies!

I AM NOW HOME FULL TIME! You can check me out online, just search for Jadzia's Pet Care.

My husband and were both working professionals, with no human children, only furry babies. I started pet sitting on these online websites as a hobby, and it's since turned into the best full-time job ever! We are in and out of the house and very active. If your pet were to stay with us, they would be taken on several walks daily and snuggled with as if they were at home. Also, as if they were at home, they would be left unsupervised at times while we are out and about. We have a big window where all our animals like to sit and watch the outside as they await our return. We are not a daycare that offers around the clock care, instead, we are a responsible, friendly alternative to a boring caged kennel. We offer a true home away from home experience.

Large breeds welcome!

In our home, your pup is allowed everywhere you say is okay. We allow pups on furniture if that is the norm in your home, if not, we will enforce your house rules for consistency.

HOME DOG BOARDING: Regular Rate $30/night; Puppy rate may apply at $40/night (puppies from 3 months to 12 months)

DOGGY DAYCARE: Regular Rate $25/day; Puppy rate may apply at $30/day (puppies under 12 months)

PICK-UP & DROP-OFF HOURS: We are quite flexible and allow for pickup/drop-off between 6am – 11pm, 7 days week, however our availability does vary if we have a previously planned commitment.

OUR PETS:

About our Resident Fur Babies

Resident Dog: Talos is our newest addition to our family. He is a Neapolitan Mastiff/Cane Corso. Born on Ground Hog Day in 2021, he joined the family in April 2021. He's a born leader and has big shoes to fill, but with the size of his paws, we have no doubt he'll be up to the challenge. He's still learning the ropes but very playful and happy to be surrounded with new friends.

Resident Cats: We have two cats, Elvis & Basia who are mostly indifferent to visitors in our home. If they don't like what's going on, they know where to go to quietly nap, they have their own room with cat only access. They are mostly indoors with some outdoor privileges during the day in the summer months. Like all cats, if chased or corned, they will defend, but only if they must. They are pretty good with inexperienced dogs and will hold their ground to teach them whose boss. A cat is always the boss.

About our PAST Resident Fur Babies

Our handsome big man Loki was a senior Cane Corso we adopted from the Humane Society in 2018. Loki was already a senior dog, but still a lively soul. He was a big boy with a big boy bark, but very friendly with all our guest. His tushy was know as the PUPPY PILLOW, as eventually, every puppy would inevitably snuggle up to him. Although his time with us was short, he brought this home so much joy and it will never be the same without him.

Our beautiful Maggie, (a large, older, extremely calm and friendly lab/hound mix) passed away. She had an amazing power to calm other dogs down, we just loved her so much, that even though she was older with rapidly declining mobility it hadn't stopped us. We purchased a special dog stroller and after her short walks she would excitedly get into her stroller. Yes, we were those "crazy" people with a big dog in a stroller. Ms. Maggie even went to 3 days of La Machine!! We still have the stroller, and if your dog is older, they would most definitely have the opportunity to try it out.

Other Info

I am proud to say that most of my guest who stay in my home with me now are returning guests, but I am always accepting new clients! Because many of the dogs staying here are dogs I already know, I am able to predict quite well who will get along who. Personalities and temperament is everything, size doesn’t really matter in the dog world!

Dog Parks we visit are:

Jack Purcell Park – small, fully fenced & double gated - for those pups with limited recall

Bruce Pit – large, 99% fenced - for those pups that can be trusted with average recall

Conroy Pit – large, limited fences – on leash walks only, but great for socializing

Brewer Park - uncenced, medium size park with water access (warm months only)

* Summer:

In the summer we travel to a family cottage on some weekends. If your pup were to stay with us on one of those weekends, your pup would get to travel with us to the cottage too. The cottage community is about 3 hours away, lots of fresh air and has its own (fully fenced) dog park as well. Pickup limitations with these weekends apply. We arrive back late Sunday night so no pickups before 10:30pm, we are willing to drop off your pup free of charge on our way back if within the Ottawa area.

* Winter:

In the winter we try to maximize your pups exercise time outdoors when Ottawa winter weather is in full force. With weather of -20 or colder pups are not walked longer then 10-20 minutes at a time, but are taken to dog parks regularly to run and play. Running creates way more heat than walking does, plus dog parks are just so much fun! If you have winter jackets or booties, please bring them, we will use them when necessary.

* Holiday Season:

If your pup is going to be staying with us over the holidays (Christmas, New Year, Easter, Thanksgiving or any of the summer stat holidays) there is a chance they will be travelling with us to see family. Our family loves dogs and always welcome new guests. Pick-up limitations during the holidays will apply.

Jadzia's services

At the sitter's home

Dog Boarding
Overnight stay at the sitter's home
30 CAD for each additional pet
30 CAD
/night
Doggy Day Care
Daytime care for your dog at the sitter's home.
30 CAD for each additional pet
30 CAD
/day

At your home

Dog Walking
An experienced dog walker will pick up your dog from your home for a 30 min walk
12 CAD for each additional pet
25 CAD
/walk
One home visit a day
Book a pet sitter to stop by your home to feed and play with your pet
25 CAD
/day
Two home visits a day(Existing clients only)
Two drop-in visits for your pet
43 CAD
/day

Jadzia also offers

Pick up / drop off

Cancellation policy: Flexible

Full refund if cancelled before noon one day before the booking, 50% refund afterwards

Reviews

starstarstarstarstar
Communication
starstarstarstarstar
Conscientious
starstarstarstarstar
Profile accuracy
starstarstarstarstar
Treatment of animals
starstarstarstarstar
Value
starstarstarstarstar
Doggy Day Care
Leo, 2021-11-30

Good value. would use again.

starstarstarstarstar
Dog Boarding
David, 2021-11-16

I'm very happy with my choice of dog sitter. Jadzia was very kind, accommodating and mostly, fantastic with with my dog Luna. I loved receiving the pictures while on my trip without her and I was reassured that she was having a great time. I would definitely recommend and would chose her again next time I need sitting or boarding.

1
2
3
4
5
...
48
next page

Availability

Jadzia's Pets

Elvis
Cat
Basia
Cat

About Jadzia's Home

Accepted pets

Puppies
< 1 year
Dog sizes
0-80 kg
Dog ages
0-20 years
Dog sex
Female & Male
Small animals
rodents, rabbits, ...

Jadzia's home

A medium outdoor area
Has no kids
A fully fenced backyard
Emergency transport

Walking areas

Nearby off-leash dog area
Urban, City park & Forest

Skills

Specific Skills

I speak English & Other
+20 years of experience
Familiar with dog training techniques
Can take care of exotic animals

I have had dogs and cats my whole life, I am a strong pack leader who loves a new challenge. I have the patience and strengh to walk dogs that do not normally walk well on a leash. I volunteer at the Humane Society training/walking dog that are not ready for adoption.

Can Administer

Oral medications
Injected medications

Experience with

Animal welfare as a volunteer
Rescuing pets
Behavioural problems

Stats

SMS
Verified
Email
Verified
Jadzia

Jadzia

Loving Home Away From Home!

Ottawa
Dog boarding
24h stay, at sitter's home
30 CAD for each additional pet
30 CAD
/night
All services and rates
Contact Jadzia

Cancellation policy: Flexible

Full refund if cancelled before noon one day before the booking, 50% refund afterwards

Book via Pawshake to enjoy The Pawshake Guarantee, in-house customer support, booking guarantee, safe cashless payments, no booking fees, no change fees, daily updates and more!

Contact Jadzia